top of page
  • Writer's pictureLucas Garcia Cornejo

Blog Entry #2

Updated: Sep 29, 2018

- My individual research project was on the friction match. The science behind the match itself does not help me in regards to the JPL project, but the research does. While researching I learned that the process to get an efficiently working match took time and a lot of experimenting. This helps me for the JPL project so that I don't expect for our first prototype built to be our final system and to realize that it will take time.


- In my JPL project, many things are going well and some things not so well. We have the overall structure of our system and have started building. We also have a working claw that fits the PVC pipe very nicely.A problem we are currently having is finding a solution to lifting the arm which grips onto the PVC pipe. Overall as a group we work well and help each other out as much as possible.


- Some problems I see arising in regards to the JPL project is finding a solution for lifting the arm connected to the claw. The arm is heavy itself and also needs to lift the weight of the PVC pipe. Another problem is that one claw may not be strong enough to hold the PVC stable. A solution to that problem is using two claws instead of one, but that means having to program both claws to work simultaneously.


- The past two weeks have been some of the most stressful days of my life. I just recently found out that most engineering schools require SAT subject tests. They require one math and one science, so I have been cramming in time to study for Math 2 and Chemistry on top of doing regular schoolwork and working on college applications. This is causing me to get little sleep and feel groggy during school. On the bright side, I got asked to homecoming by one of my best friends and am extremely excited to see what the rest of my senior year has in store for me.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog Entry #9

- I will be attending UC Berkeley for the next four years and will be double majoring in mechanical and energy engineering. - Some advice I have for Incoming PLTW students is to really push yourself t

bottom of page